How to Resolve “Error Message Bld 8311” in EndNote?

January 14, 2015 – by Peggy Dreker

Question: I recently tried to open an EndNote Library that I had previously been working on. When I tried to open the Library it gave me the Error Message “Bld 8311”. I am using EndNote Version X7.2.1. How can I get the Library to open?

Answer: The Error Message “Bld 8311” indicates that there is a corrupt attached pdf file in your Library. Many times this is an error on the publishers’ side; not the EndNote user or the program itself. There are two suggested steps to restore the Library; Back up and Recover the Library.

There is also another option that may help that is outlined at the bottom of this post.

The two suggested steps come from EndNote: (

Leave a Reply

