How to Share Your EndNote Library

December 5, 2014 – Yingting

Starting with EndNote X7, users can share a library with up to 14 people for research collaboration. Anyone who has EndNote X7 can share a library regardless of where s/he is.

To share a library, you need to

  • Register for an account in EndNote Online at: http://my.endnote.com or http://myendnoteweb.com.
  • Sync your desktop library with your online library first.
  • Then in EndNote desktop, go to File and then Share …
  • Enter the email addresses of people you would like to invite to access your library.

You can include anyone who is using EndNote X7 up to 14 people, plus yourself. Your whole library can be shared including references, PDFs, and annotations. All the shared people can read, add references to, and edit the library at the same time. There’s no library size limit and no cloud storage limit.

Please keep in mind that you can share only ONE library from your Windows or Mac desktop. However, you can be shared with unlimited number of libraries by others. You can access the shared library only from your desktop though.

Because of the fact that sharing relies on the EndNote sync feature, all users accessing the library must have an EndNote online account connected with their desktop version of EndNote X7.

You may stop sharing your library at any time. To stop sharing, you can remove the name by going to File > Share in your desktop version and clicking on the gear icon.

If you have any question on how to share your library, please feel free to contact us.

Advertisements

8 Responses

  1. This was a very helpful article – thank you!!

  2. Any chance there is a way in the future to share for viewing but not editing?

    • Yes, you can allow multiple users to access one EndNote library simultaneously as long as the library is restricted to read-only. Read the EndNote Help information for details.

  3. Hello,

    I have synced my desktop library with my EndNote web account and would like to share, but there is no ‘Share’ option under ‘File’. All I get is:

    New
    Open
    Close library
    Save (greyed out)
    Save as (greyed out)
    Save a copy
    Revert (Greyed out)
    Export
    Import
    Print
    Print preview
    Print setup
    Compressed library
    Exit

    Where is the ‘Share’ option supposed to be located? Thanks for your help!

    • What version of EndNote are you using? I just checked mine and noticed that Share is located between Revert and Export under the File menu. You should contact Thomson Reuters directly for help. Thanks. –Yingting

  4. Hi, thanks for the helpful article!
    I hope one of you guys can help me out with a problem.
    A friend of mine was editing our shared library and accidentally removed the content of all the folders I had made (I had arranged all my articles into different folders). Is it possible to retrieve that information or undo that?

    Thanks in advance!

  5. Hi, thanks for the helpful article!
    I hope one of you guys can help me out with a problem.
    A friend of mine was editing our shared library and accidentally removed the content of all the folders I had made (I had arranged all my articles into different folders). Is it possible to retrieve that information or undo that?

    Thanks in advance!

  6. Is the above still accurate for Endnote 8 and is there any bugs known when sharing with those running a different version (7 or 8)?

    I also had a separate question; is the “write only” feature the best way to ensure that shared documents are not being edited by two users at the same time? The concern being that this may cause errors on either or both ends.

    Thank you for all the help. Great blog post!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: