How to Make EndNote X3 Tab Reappear in Word 2007?

October 1, 2009 – Yingting  

Question: I accidentally disabled the EndNote X3 tab in Word 2007. How can I make it reappear?

Answer: To re-enable the EndNote Cite While You Write (CWYW) Add-in in Word 2007, you need to follow the following steps:

  • Click on the Office button in the upper left corner Word2007OfficeButton.
  • Under the Office menu, click on “Word Options” at the bottom. A new window will open.
  • Click on “Add-ins” on the left NavBar in the Word Options window.
  • At the bottom of the list of Add-Ins, under “Disabled Application Add-Ins”, you should see the Cite While You Write Add-in. To re-enable this, go to the Manage: pull-down menu located at the very bottom of the Word Options window. Change the menu from “COM Add-ins” to “Disabled Items”.
  • Click Go, you will see a little pop-up window.
  • Click on the “Add-in: cite while you write (endnote cwyw.dll)” and then hit Enable.
  • After doing that, close Word 2007 as well as all other Office programs and then restart Word2007. The EndNote X3 Tab should reappear in the Ribbon next to the View tab.

Should you have any question, please contact us.

50 Responses

  1. Thanks for your help. It worked just like you stated.

  2. It’s wanderful great help that I need!

  3. THANK YOU!!!! It worked perfect! Thanks for getting me back on track!!

  4. Thank you. Wonderful.

  5. Thank you very much. I can do my job again.

  6. Fantastic, worked…. :-)

  7. Oh… Thank you very very much… You saved me!!

    Really… TKYOU!!!

  8. Great well-explained instructions! Thank you so much.

  9. thanks alot. perfect and to the point.

  10. Thanks so much

  11. Thank you very very very much!!!!

    you save me!!!

  12. I am very thankful. It was very helpful.

  13. OMG… Thank you very very much
    You saved me!!

  14. Thanks! I appreciate it!

  15. thanks a lot, worked perfectly!

  16. Thank you, so helpful….

  17. Thank you for the great help!

  18. how about to make endnote x2 tab reappear in word 1997/200/XP?

  19. how about to make endnote x2 tab reappear in word 1997/2000/XP ?

    • I wish I could answer your question. However, I do not have EndNote X2 and Word 1997 in place right now and can’t test it. You may contact EndNote technical support directly for help: 1-800-336-4474. –Yingting

  20. Thank you very much for this article. You saved the day! :-)

  21. Both the windows office word and endnote websites were useless to solve this problem, but you solved it perfectly! Thanks!

  22. OK, just want to say that after pfaffing around with that thing, going to the Thomson site, etc. for hours, you guys at New Jersey school of whatever are the best. Thank YOU!!

  23. Thanks for sharing this! This did the trick. Unfortunately the EndNote’s was no help at all. I wish the developers of EndNote will get their act together. Luckily I have heard of open source versions of citation software, so I will be moving to those as fast as I can.

  24. Thanks a million! (:

  25. Worked great. This is what I was looking for!!

  26. The are no words that i can used to thank you…it just worked perfectly after attempting different trouble shooting. I am so happy that i can hand in my thesis on time..

  27. This still doesn’t work for me – it says: “this add-in is installed for all users on this computer and can only be connected or disconnected by an administrator”

    I am the administrator! If you could help I would be very grateful – I am completing my PhD and endnote crashing is completing stressing me out!

    • The only other way I could think of is to uninstall EndNote and then reinstall it. But before you uninstall the program, make sure you saved all your EndNote libraries in a separate directory/folder, so that they will not be removed along with the uninstalled program. If you still have problems, please contact EndNote technical support directly at: 1-800-336-4474. Good luck and happy new year.

  28. Thank you, Worked like a charm ! Thank you :)

  29. Thanks for this information. I really appreciate it.

  30. Thanks heaps for this information. Already tried reinstalling Endnote, but this one worked. cheers Karam

  31. thnx for the tip

  32. Shukran (Thank you) from Saudi Arabia

  33. Just perfect! Thanks a lot!

  34. hooray it works XD thanks so much

  35. YAY!!

  36. great, thanks!!!

  37. thank you!

  38. that is greate, It works

  39. OMG, THANK YOU .. I CANNOT TELL YOU HOW MUCH YOU HAVE JUST HELPED ME!!! I was about to literally throw my computer out the window.

  40. Thank you! Couldn’t figure this out, you’ve just saved me heaps of time being angry at my computer!

  41. Hello. Does anybody know how I can make endnote appear on the toolbar of word 2007?(I have Vista)
    I have the folder of my X3 endnote that is working fine in my computer in the lab.
    But I dont know what file I have to run here. When I click on the endnote.exe it just open my library but doesnt show endnote as a program in my control panel.

    Could anybody help me? Please

    I appreciate it

    thanks

  42. Thank you so much!!!!!! I was losing my mind over here!!! thanks a ton!!!

  43. Hi there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it is truly informative.
    I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I will be grateful if you continue this in future. Many people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  44. Thanks so much, It really work
    a perfect solution with every steps

  45. Thanks alot :)

  46. So I had this problem. Word had disabled automatically the Endnote addin because word was crashing multiple times. I did what you advised to have the endnote tool bar back again in Word. When I opened Word I could see it again. Unfortunately as soon as I tried to add a new cite in my word document it frooze again and shut down (a new document with “repaired” appeared and the endnote toolbar was again removed).

    I tried to desinstall Endnote but it does not work. I updated Endnote also with no result.

    I have Endnote X3 and Word 2007. This happened to me last week on one computer and this week on the other one. I cannot seem to go back to the way it used to be with Endnote X3 working with Word 2007.
    THANK YOU in advance for any help.

  47. Thank you. perfect step by step description. I’m so grateful.

  48. Hi
    To cut a long story short, I tried using Endnote Web on 2003 on my laptop but then altered the document on another computer with Word 2010.
    Then upgraded to Word 2007 on my laptop as Endnote Web does not support 2003 any more, but my document is corrupted since altering it on other computer.
    It says there is an error any time I try to add a citation to my document, but if i start a new document (typing only,not copying and pasting!) I can add a citation!
    Can anyone please help?
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

