How to Make EndNote X1 & X2 work with Word 2007?

July 31, 2008 – Peggy  

Problem: While trying to format the bibliography of my thesis recently, EndNote managed to hang and crash Word 2007. When I restarted Word, the EndNote tab was nowhere to be seen.

Solution: The EndNote Cite While You Write Add-in had been disabled by Word due to its malfunction. Re-enabling the CWYW Add-in takes just a few steps. This only applies to Word 2007 for Windows, not earlier versions.

Start by clicking on the “Office” button in the top left corner of the Word2007 window (The fact that Microsoft elected to make that thing act as a button, with no label of any sort, is a topic for another rant). Under the Office button menu, click on “Word Options” at the bottom of the menu. That opens up the Word Options window. Click on “Add-ins”.

At the bottom of the list of Add-Ins, under “Disabled Application Add-Ins”, you can see the Cite While You Write add-in. To re-enable this, go to the Manage: menu. Change the menu from “COM Add-ins” to “Disabled Items”

Click Go, and you’ll get a new little window.

Click on the “Add-in: cite while you write (endnote cwyw.dll)” and then hit Enable.

After doing that, shut down Word 2007 and restart. The EndNote tab should re-appear and work like normal.

58 Responses

  1. Thk !!

    • Thanks a lot. I tried many times instaling and uninstalling MS Word2007 and EndNoteX1, but failed. However, you tell me very useful information. Thanks again!

  2. Awesome! A million thanks!

  3. Thanks for guidance

    The add in Endnote works again.

  4. Thank you!!! I have been searching for this for ages, and found other fixes on the Endnote website but none of them worked. I am so grateful.

  5. Thanks a bunch …. a million bunches actually…..dude!!!!

  6. Very very helpful! Saved me hours of frustration.

  7. thank you so much !

  8. MERCI!
    It works.

  9. GREAT help!!!!!

  10. thanx seems so inadequate but thank you never-the less.

  11. Thanks a lot. I had this issue and freaked out. But things are good now. SO thanks for the solution.

  12. Thank you very much!!! Easy fix–works beautifully now!

  13. Thanks a lot, this was really helpful in stressful thesis writing times!

  14. THANK YOU! A life saver!

  15. Thanks for the clear instructions, much appreciated….

  16. OMG!!! thanks sooooooo much! I was in the middle of formatting my thesis and poof, no more endnote :(
    I almost had a stroke.

  17. This is still helping people so much. Thanks greatly!!!!

  18. Thank you thank you thank you!!!!

  19. Many thanks for help!!!

  20. Thanks a lot! I’d already tried several other “recovery schemes” before I found your easy to follow description and it worked!

  21. Why on earth would the manufactures of endnote not provide these basic instructions to use endnote with word 2007. Thanks a million for these instructions

  22. thanks a lot..it works…saved my time..:)..

  23. Thank a lot for your awesome description. THANK YOU !!

  24. I am using Endnote X1 and 2007 word, and window 7. When using word and Endnote, the computer slows down dramatically. Anybody has similar experience?

    • Yes my laptop slows down when I have endnote x1 and word open. Very frustrating!!! If anyone has a solution please share.

      • same here, when i switch off the two addins, the system is almost back to normal. The IT guys say the file hierachy is damaged, though – beyond recovery. So i probably need to get it reformatted at some point. Right now it kind of works, as long as i dont switch on the endnote. I found that if i do not endnote, i can have it open as well as word, as long as i dont use the machine for anything else meanwhile. (I cant even open the task manager!) … then i disable the addins, and close endnote, and then the machine is back to “normal”.

        Help would be greatly greatly appreciated.

  25. Thank you so much!! Worked on this for hours today and this solved it in minutes!

  26. hi, I tried many times instaling and uninstalling Word2007 and EndNoteX3 and couldnt resolve the problem.
    Word options menu, i cant click add-ins, and the other choices, anybody can help me??? word options menu not working

  27. thank you very much for this VITAL information….worse my Word 2007 is in Japanese. hehehe. I am now proceeding with my review paper.

  28. Tried this but the problem is that it has loaded a tab for Endnote Web and I don’t want that, just want to be able to use my libraries. Do I need to disable something and if yes, how do I do that?

    • You may follow the steps below to change the tab from EndNote Web to EndNote:

      •Launch Word 2007 and click on the EndNote tab.
      •Click on Preferences in the Endnote tab (near top right of page).
      •Click on the Application tab in the EndNote Preferences Window.
      •Change the Application drop-down box to EndNote instead of EndNote Web.
      •EndNote tab should reappear in Word.

  29. Thanks a lot….very helpfull.

  30. What then if the add-in is enabled but it continue not to be shown in the tab where it should be?

  31. This one really works
    Thanks

  32. Thank you for another fantastic blog. Where else could I receive such a information written in a very incite full way? I’ve a project that i’m at the moment implementing, and i also are seeking such information

  33. Thanks, this stopped yet another headache with Endnote/Word.

  34. The other simplest way to get the tools to appear in Word 2007 is to run the “Repair” function by selecting EndNote X1 or later in the “Add/Remove Programs” (“Programs and Features” in Windows 7 and Vista) in the Windows Control Panel. Choose “Change” then select “Repair”. Click Next on each of these screens until the process finishes. Quit and restart all Office applications and check for the tools in Word.

    • Sometime that doesn’t works atleast for me i tried that. But this solution helped me in few minutes. I will recommend this Adds in option enabling.

  35. Thanks so much! Been searching for a while and this worked.

  36. You are truly a life saver! I have been trying to fix this issue for over an hour and with you help I resolved the problem in 2 minutes!

  37. Thanks alot. Nice effort. You solved many scholar problem. hat off to you :)

  38. Thanks!!! Days and days, hours and hours of frustration solved! Why don’t they make it more obvious how to re-enable an add-in in Word 2007?

  39. Super – much better than the EndNote homepage! Thanks a lot.

  40. THanks, It was really helpful

  41. Many many thanks!

  42. Thank you sooooo much!! I tried doing what it is posted in the EndNote website but did not work. This was soooooooo simple!

    Life saver!

  43. thanks for you helped me man

  44. Thanks a lot…

  45. thanks

  46. Every time I try to update my citations, I get an “unknown error” message. I have tried uninstalling and re-installing the endnoteweb cwyw add-in and also activating and deactivating it, but that did not help. Let me know if anyone has had a similar experience or can think of a solution. Thanks!

  47. thank you very much. I waste my time reinstall, update, repair and so many thing. Luckily I don’t reinstall my word.
    Really appreciate.

  48. Hi, should I follow the same steps for Word 2010? been trying to find the Endnote on the menu for ages….

  49. Thank you so much!!

  50. Thanks you very much..It helped me a lot!!

  51. A great piece of advice on how to re-activate the EndNote tab in Word 2007! Thanks very much!

  52. Thanks alot. But the same problem reappears again and again… any help!

    • Please call EndNote Technical Support for help: 1-800-336-4474; at the prompt press 4, and then select the ”Research Software” option.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

